Track Program Chairs

Track 12-ARVWET-TPC Chair Coordinator-Tassos A. Mikropoulos

Tassos A. Mikropoulos

University of Ioannina, Greece [Co-coordinator]

Christian Gütl

Graz University of Technology, Austria

Morris S. Y. Jong

The Chinese University of Hong Kong, Hong Kong

Track Description and Topics of Interest

Virtual Reality (VR) technologies have become a powerful and promising tool in education and training because of their unique affordances, learning affordances and their enacted learning activities. Virtual environments, Multi User Virtual Environments (MUVEs) or virtual worlds, and Augmented Reality (AR) applications find their place in education.

Educational virtual environments and worlds have shown their potential in the understanding of concepts and in rejecting students’ misconceptions. Moreover, both students and teachers share a positive attitude towards the use of virtual reality in educational settings. A systematic effort and more empirical studies are needed in order to show how the affordances of virtual and augmented reality systems can be pedagogically used.

To respond the increasing demands of exploiting virtual reality in education, the Track on Augmented Reality and Virtual Worlds in Education and Training (ARVWET) invites researchers and practitioners to submit original research work in the following topics:

  • Virtual and Augmented Reality pedagogy and learning design
  • Virtual Worlds learning infrastructures
  • Socio-cultural perspectives and implications of education in Virtual Worlds
  • Virtual Worlds for collaborative and socio-constructivist learning/training
  • Virtual labs and simulations for science learning
  • Virtual environments on certain learning domains
  • Virtual World integrated MOOCs
  • Virtual Worlds and Augmented Reality in informal learning
  • Virtual and Augmented Reality and special needs education
  • Virtual Worlds, Augmented Reality and serious games for teaching and learning
  • Cross Reality environments for learning

Track Program Committee

Ioanna Bellou, Sxoliki Simvoulos, Greece
Jie Geng, China Jiliang University, China
María Blanca Ibáñez, Universidad Carlos III de Madrid, Spain
Ralf Klamma, RWTH Aachen University, Germany
Chiu-Lin Lai, National Taiwan University of Science and Technology, Taiwan
Antonis Natsis, Aarhus University, Denmark
Spyros Vosinakis, University of the Aegean, Greece